2018 Annecy Awards

The 42nd Annecy International Animation Film Festival has just finished and the juries awarded 19 prizes on Saturday 16th June at the closing ceremony.

Italian director Martina Scarpelli won the Award for Best First Film with her work The Egg (p. Miyu Productions, Late Love, FR, DK). The black and white hand-drawn animation takes that observance of women’s physical plight much further in its portrait of anorexia, seen in a woman’s horror at the eating and digestion of an egg. Watch the trailer here. This project participated in the Visegrad Animation Forum 2015 where the team received several in-depth consultations with an experienced professional on their story concept, project development, financial plan, market or festival strategy etc. The project draw the attention of the international jury and received the special mention in the pitching competition.

In the same festival category was awarded Croatian-French short film Cyclistes by Veljko Popovic (p. Lemonade 3D, Krupni Kadar, Bagan Films). In a small town next to the sea in Croatia, the cycling season is at its peak. During the final race the two leaders are not just battling for the grand prize, but also for the affection of a lady and fulfillment of their erotic fantasy.

Czech director Jan Saska arrived to Annecy Festival with his latest work Hurikan (prod. Alžběta Janáčková and Kamila Dohnalová). This project was also pitched at the VAF Třeboň 2017 and received the special mention. Jan Saska was already awarded at the VAF Třeboň in the past – with his successful Oscar nominated Happy End.

A complete list of winners can be found below:

TV and Commissioned Films

Cristal for a Commissioned Film
Leica “Everything in Black and White”
Mateus de Paula Santos – Vetor Zero / Lobo – Brazil

Jury Award
Mark Lotterman “Happy”
Alice Saey – France, The Netherlands

Cristal for a TV Production
Pig: The Dam Keeper Poems “Yellow Flower”, “Hello Nice to Meet You”
Erick Oh – Tonko House – USA, Japan

Jury Award for a TV Series
We Bare Bears “Panda’s Art”
Daniel Chong – Cartoon Network Studios – USA

Jury Award for a TV Special
The Robot Chicken Walking Dead Special: Look Who’s Walking
Thomas Sheppard – Stoopid Buddy Stoodios – USA

Graduation Films

Cristal for a Graduation Film
Jenny Jokela – Royal College of Art – United Kingdom

Jury Award
Lucia Bulgheroni – National Film and Television School – United Kingdom

Jury Distinction
Florian Brauch, Matthieu Pujol, Kim Tailhades, Yohan Thireau, Romain Thirion – MOPA (Supinfocom Arles) – France

Animation Off-Limits

Off-Limits Award – Short Film (tie)
An Excavation of Us (Le Déterrement de Nous)
Shirley Bruno – Le Fresnoy, Studio National des Arts Contemporains – France, Greece, Haiti

Boy Transcoded from Phosphene (Garoto transcodificado a partir de fosfeno)
Rodrigo Faustini – Brazil

Feature Films

Cristal for a Feature Film
Denis Do – Les Films d’Ici, Lunanime, BAC Films, Webspider Productions, IThinkAsia – Belgium, Cambodia, France, Luxembourg

Jury Award
The Breadwinner
Nora Twomey – Cartoon Saloon, Aircraft Pictures, Melusine Productions, Studio 352 – Canada, Ireland, Luxembourg

Jury Distinction
The Wolf House (La casa lobo)
Cristóbal León, Joaquín Cociña – Diluvio – Chile

Audience Award
The Breadwinner
Nora Twomey – Cartoon Saloon, Aircraft Pictures, Melusine Productions, Studio 352 – Canada, Ireland, Luxembourg

Short Films

Cristal for a Short Film
Bloeistraat 11
Nienke Deutz – Lunanime, Need Productions, Windmill Film, Beast Animation – Belgium, The Netherlands

Jury Award
Trevor Jimenez – Past Lives Productions – USA

Jean-Luc Xiberras Award for a First Film
Martina Scarpelli – Miyu Productions, Late Love – France, Denmark

Jury Distinction
Cyclistes (Biciklisti)
Veljko Popovic – Lemonade 3D, Krupni Kadar, Bagan Films – Croatia, France

Audience Award
Trevor Jimenez – Past Lives Productions – USA