The First Edition of the European Animation Emile Awards 2017

The Emile Awards, first ceremony of the European Animation Awards (EAA), will be held Friday 8th December 2017, at le Nouveau Siècle in Lille, France to reward the skills of European professionals. The awards will be voted by the EAA members, representing a large vision of European professionals.

These awards have been created to celebrate the diversity, skills and excellence of European professionals and productions (short films, TV series and specials and feature films). They honor and refer to two important figures of cinema: Emile Reynaud (1844-1918), French inventor and creator of the first cartoons, who presented his “pantomimes lumineuses” on October 28, 1892, the date that has since been chosen as World Animation Day; and Emile Cohl (1857-1938), French illustrator and animator, considered to be the first director in animation, who has created more than 300 films, using all kinds of animation techniques.

The call for entries is open in following categories:
1. Best Student Film
2. Best Commissioned Film
3. Best Animated Short Film
4. Best Background and Character Design in a Short Film Production
5. Best TV/Broadcast Production (Best Director)
6. Best Background and Character Design in a TV/Broadcast Production
7. Best Character Animation in a TV/Broadcast Production
8. Best Writing in a TV/Broadcast Production
9. Best Storyboard in a TV/Broadcast Production
10. Best Soundtrack in a TV/Broadcast Production
11. Best Feature Film (Best Director)
12. Best Background and Character Design in a Feature Film
13. Best Character Animation in a Feature Film
14. Best Writing in a Feature Film
15. Best Storyboard in a Feature Film
16. Best Soundtrack in a Feature Film
17. Lotte Reiniger Life Achievement Award

To qualify for entry, productions must have had their first release between January 1, 2016 and July 31, 2017.

Entries will only be accepted through the EAA online submissions forms (Animated Short Film, Commissioned film, Student film, TV/Broadcast production, Feature Film). To enter, please visit:
For an Animated Short Film:
For a Student Film:
For a Commissioned Film:
For a TV/Broadcast Film:
Fort a Feature Film:

The deadline for entries is 23.59 (UTC) on September 15, 2017

You can find all important information here: